icon_newspaper.gifWednesday, January 8, 1986
The Daily Oklahoman

Awards have been announced in the recent Student Design Competition 1985, sponsored by the Graphic Communication Society of Oklahoma.

Several Oklahoma colleges and universities participated in the contest, said Michael O’Keefe, graphic society president.

The contest is designed to promote better advertising on a college level and to help bridge the relationship between professionals and college students.

O’Keefe teaches advertising design at Oklahoma Christian College as an associate professor of art.

The graphic society has about 200 members representing professional agencies, teachers, artists and other art-related professions.

Judges were Gail Daniels, associate creative director and senior vice-president of Ackerman and McQueen; Steven Proffitt, creative director of Lowe Runkle Co.; and Steven Green, senior art director, Jordan Associates.

Scott Horton, OCC junior from Edmond, took “Best of Show” trophy.

The traveling trophy went to Oklahoma State University with students winning two first-place, two second-place and seven merit awards.

Other awards were given to students from Oklahoma Christian College, University of Oklahoma, Oklahoma State University Technical Branch, Central State University and Southwestern Oklahoma State University.

Besides Horton, other student winners were D. Keith Maple, Standalee Smith, Randal Vandewater and Jill Jones, OCC; Chris Richardson, Mark Kirklin, Adrienne Day, Greg Powell and Manuel R. Garcia, OU; Randy Stalcup, Tracy Knox, Charlynn Violett, Jeff Darlington, Russ Gurley, Cindy Taylor and Paula Anderson, OSU; Denise Foust, Linda Wenzel and Kenneth Kerr, OSU Tech; Harlow Hodges, CSU; and Alan Willemssen, SWOSU.